My Son Just Tied My Daughter To A Ceiling Fan

So, my wife and I are teaming up to co-author a book idea. Somehow, I got roped into writing a baby manual. Can you believe it? Me, parenting advice? Or, perhaps it’s a marriage guide for disillusioned couples struggling to keep their identity in the middle of a family. I don’t really know. I just write what my wife tells me to write. To sum up a possible tag line: Maintaining a sense of worth while raising children.

Or, to put it another way: “God, I was supposed to change the world, now all I’m changing is this dirty diaper.”

Which is currently our working title, so don’t steal it.

I always thought my first book would be some epic volume I of High Fantasy, not parenting and relationship advice from a male perspective but my wife wants me to add my own unique flare to her otherwise matronly and sensitive approach.

So here I sit, outlining 10 chapters or so. I have a rough sketch, so bare with me, but I’m thinking something like: Finding My Soul Mate With Big Knockers And Long Black/Blonde/Auburn/Red Hair, 2) You Know The Honeymoon Is Over When She Farts In Your Bed and  3) My Son Just Tied My Daughter To A Ceiling Fan.  

My wife just told me ‘no.’ Evidently those will not be the chapter headings of our book.

She said it will be something more like: 1) Finding “the one,” 2) Not so Happily Ever After” and 3) Raising Boys Vs Girls.

I am making light of this, but I am seriously excited as well. I think we will make a dynamic book that will not only be entertaining, but will have some very insightful things to say. As always, I will keep you apprised of our progress.

Check out her blog as well: Heater Graham

5 thoughts on “My Son Just Tied My Daughter To A Ceiling Fan

  1. Oh my god. You need to TOTALLY go with your original titles for those chapters. That’s hilarious. That’s your voice and it will totally attract attention which you want. I love the title of the book too. I say go with that. But that’s just my opinion.

    Maybe you can tell your wife that you are doing a draft “just for you” and then later you’ll revise it with what she wants. Just make sure to keep the “just for you” draft just in case. You sound like an awesome writer! Haha. I would read a parenting book with those titles. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • He was just throwing me under the bus! 🙂 I actually came up with the book title (though he will argue with that!) and I am totally on board with his chapter titles! We’re both a bit zany!

Leave a Reply

