Some People Should Not Breed

It has been 18 days since my last blog.

So much has happened since I last posted something, I don’t know where to start! 

Since April 13th NFL players had been locked out, let back in, and then locked out again.

A Prince was married and I saw Sir Elton John dab a tear away as he sat in the front row. (Mr. Bean was there too, but I didn’t see him cry) Royal Wedding’s guests of nobility have come a long way since the glory days of Sir. Lancelot and Sir. Drake the Dragon.

Oh yes, and in France, a telecom worker set himself on fire.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/france-telecom-worker-sets-himself-on-fire-2275786.html

Yes, my friends…so much has gone on, I feel like we are reacquainting ourselves.

I did not intend to abandon you for so long. I’ve been busy. Work. Being a Daddy.  Popping bubble wrap online:

http://www.virtual-bubblewrap.com/popnow.shtml

(This is a strangly addictive website, btw)

While I took my small sojourn, my wife has become more serious about her writing career, which I completely support. She is working to build her platform as a commentator of parenting. She has a good voice for it too and it can relate to a lot of moms out there who might feel isolated and alone. A good friend of hers, who is an accomplished freelance writer, even offered to help introduce her to a few contacts who may help in this endeavor.

I’m very proud of her.

My wife even had a great idea for me. “You know, there are a lot of guys out there who could use your perspective, too.”

The idea has merit and the wheels in my head started to spin. I could dedicate a portion of my blog on parenting stories told from my unique perspective. So, off I went on my own personal writing junket to research some guys who I could network with. I met father’s, handed out my business card, and took some snap shots of my perspective platform. Instantly I saw the need. Men could use some help when it comes to being better boyfriends/husbands/fathers. Honestly, most men need some help no matter what role they happen to fulfill at any given point in their lives.

So, off I went to dig up some research.

First, I found Carl. His wife asked him to hold Jr. while she got some snacks. Like the good guy he is, Carl maned up to the challenge:

“Honey, could you hold Jr. while I go get some Funnel Cake?”

I offered my business card to Carl but he just threatened to kick my ass.

 
I continued my journey up north to the land of 10,000 lakes in Minnesota. I refuse to visit Minn-e-soooo-cold between the months of November through March, but since it was April I figured the weather might be ok.
 
I met Bob and Patricia heading out to enjoy a nice spring day in the upper Mid-West region of our country. A balmy breeze was whipping up off the water and they politely asked me to take a picture of them.
 

"Mommy, look at the pretty boats!"

I think Bob and Pat are heading to Niagara Falls next.

Being a parent is a tough job. It stress you out and sometimes you are not thinking as clearly as you should. I don’t know who this woman is. I didn’t give her my card because I try not to slip women notes with my cell phone jotted down on the back. I tried that once and got an angry call from a husband telling me to leave his wife alone.

Another time I got a call from a mother who told me all about her husband who is not nearly as sensitive and understanding as I obviously was.

Anyway, I was encouraged for my wife because there is a market out there for stressed out mothers who might need some advice.

And sometimes, mothers just have more money than sense:

When you know it’s time to hire a nanny to take the kids out.

It was an eventful trip, but I’m glad to be home, and back into my routine with all of you.

In the end, I reviewed the notes from my trip and realized there were a lot of parents out there who were just beyond help. So, I think I’ll stick to what I know and leave the child watching to CPS.

UPDATE#1

panovision101 already commented on this post, but I wanted to make sure everyone had a chance to see it. (I know sometimes I’m guilty of skimming over the comments) He had a great solution for this on a post he worte a few weeks ago. Check it out:

http://lastexittoreality.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/pedestrian-vs-pram-and-the-case-of-serial-breeders/#comment-23

10 thoughts on “Some People Should Not Breed

  1. Nice to see you back around the blogosphere, Aaron.

    Your advice is invaluable. I’ve given this blog post to my fiance in participation of our planned (but still fairly distant) parenting adventures. Thank you for helping us not to inadvertently mislay or permanently damage our children.

    • It’s great to be back, Charlotte!

      Contratulations on your upcoming wedding! As to your plans of a fairly distant family…lol…those kind of plans have a tendency of rapidly being changed with those little “oops” nights that tend to slip up on newlyweds.

      *smile* I do wish you all the best of luck though. As always, thank you for stoping by.

  2. Pingback: Pedestrian VS. Pram (and the case of serial breeders) « Last exit to reality

  3. Will Bob and Patricia and the boys ever make it to Niagara Falls? I’ve always wanted to go there. pictures pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

