The Road To ‘Obscurity’ Is Paved With Good Intentions

My dad is a preacher, and there is a saying in the Church Culture that says something like “The road to hell is paved with perfume and a mini skirt.”  Wait, that’s not it…

 Anyway, I promised everyone a well thought out blog today. I even know what I plan to blog about: GIANTS.  Like, “Fee Fi Fo Fum” kind of giants, or perhaps the classic tale of David and Goliath kind of giants. While I was at work today, I even snuck in a few moment of paliminary research on the subject and was just about to jot some notes down until my boss walked in.

 “Yes maam, I’ll have those reports for you in five minutes…”

 And that was the end of my research. 

 ‘Never fear,’ I told myself. ‘I’ll just blog tonight and post something witty and intriguing before I go to bed.’

 Then I got a text: “Are you on for Poker tonight at the bar?”

 So I had a decision to make. Do I turn down the offer with a lame excuse like, “No, I promised both of the followers I have on my blog that I’d post something new tonight.” Then I realized that my mom has a square dance tonight and won’t be on until tomorrow.

 “I’m all in,” I texted back. (That’s a little Poker Humor)

 So, needless to say I won’t be posting that uber witty blog about Giants tonight. ‘Never fear,” I thought to myself. ‘I’ll just post the Giant blog tomorrow.’  Then I realized that I had intended to work on my book on my off nights when I was not blogging and last night my wife came home early from work. She wanted to pop in a pizza and a movie, so my dedicated writing time was cut short yesterday as well.  There are just not enough hours in a day. If I’m not careful I can “I’ll do it tomorrow” myself into obscurity.

 So, how do you handle those annoying little time wasters, last minute hang-out with the Crew nights, surprise dates, and all around zingers in your best laid plans?  Does your writing schedule end up so edited, snipped, altered, changed, rearranged, and rescheduled that it looks like your secretary is a drunken monkey making up your daily schedule?

12 thoughts on “The Road To ‘Obscurity’ Is Paved With Good Intentions

  1. I let it go on for only so long, I suppose, before I become (even more) outright unsociable and introverted. Which equates to locking the door of my writing room, turning off my phone and messengers, and stocking up with tea and chocolate for the long haul.

    That said, I’m not really organised enough to have a fixed writing schedule. I like to do it when I have a ‘convenient’ gap in my other activities (which does happen… occasionally). As long as I get my weekly word count done it doesn’t matter much when I do it…. which means I spend quite a lot of time awake post-midnight trying to catch up 😛

    Ah well. We all get there in the end?

    Btw I do like that church quote. I’ll look forward to the witty and intriguing post coming up soon, right?

    • It’s nice to hear that I’m not the only one who has an anti-social phase worked into the regular pattern of things! 🙂 Every few months, I become a recluse for a week. So necessary for survival!

  2. That’s what late (very late) nights were invented for. Get all the annoying little time wasters out of the way before midnight and the night belongs to the writing. Of course that kind of writing doesn’t agree much with having to get up early (which, to me, is everything before 10 o’clock). That shift towards nocturnal life is almost inevitable. At least of you want to write more than 500 words a week.

  3. CHARLOTTE: I’ve had those moments too…where I become outright unsciable and introverted. Wait…that sounds like me most days. And yes, if I were ever hunkered down in a bunker, I would need six months of chocolate hershey’s bars to survive.

    Welcome to my corner of the blogasphere, btw.

  4. When I go into that deep-writing mode, I call it my “writing cave.” I warn the family and friends before I disappear into it and I don’t come out until I reach my goal (usually either the end of a chapter or scene–I don’t use word counts). It’s tricky, Aaron. An understanding spouse is a must. 🙂 But, never turn down a good game of poker or a movie with the wife for a blog. 🙂

  5. This sort of thing happens to me all the time. Sometimes it’s a friend wanting to hang out. Sometimes it’s the call of the TV or the computer (gaming or browsing) that gets me. Either way, the dilemma of writing, at least for me, is that it’s simultaneously fun and work. Almost without fail, it looks and sounds like work, the mentally taxing, emotionally draining kind, on the front end. But when I’ve pushed myself into it, it typically turns into fun in short order.

    I think the key is disturbingly simply. Just write. I mean, at the end of that day, that’s what makes a writer a writer. They sit down before a blank piece of paper (or a blank screen) and fill it.

Leave a Reply

